Please Pray

My soon-to-be-Bride, Christian is graduating on December 15 with her B.S. in Elementary Education. As you could imagine, she is very excited and I am very proud of her completing an education degree in 3 1/2 years which can normally take some students 4 1/2 years.

With that said, there is a teacher in the Bolivar district, a 3rd grade teacher to be precise, who is going on medical leave for 2nd semester. And not to be presumptuous, but this would be an excellent position for Christian to be in should she get the job. She would not be a substitute teacher and thus would qualify for regular full-time teacher salary and benefits. So, I am asking everyone to please pray for Christian and I as we go through the application process. Her interview is on Friday at 10:00 AM. It would absolutely wonderful for her to get this job seeing that it would provide us with a stable income.

Now, on the over-analysis on my part: To be honest, I am not sure how to pray for this situation. I believe the natural human inclination is to pray selfishly that she would get the job. But though, is it selfish to ask God to honor a request? This whole predicament has really gotten me thinking about the motives of our prayer. Am I really more interested in God meeting the needs of our financial situation or should I be more interested in how will God actually supply the need, whether that comes in the form of a job, or perhaps something different. What I recognize above all is that God knows what Christian and I need more than what I think we need. Being human means being selfish and being fallible, thus we can only trust in God for our certainty.

As it relates to the job, I feel guilty praying for it because of recognizing my recent hardheartedness as it relates to giving and tithing. Perhaps, God will show us the condition of our heart above all. Why do I feel as though God should honor my request when I feel as though I have not been faithful to him with my own giving.

Regardless, I ask that all of you would pray for Christian on Friday and that above all, we would trust God at all stops along the journey, in the times of abundance and in the times of uncertainty.

Thanks,
Andrew

1 Response to “Please Pray”


  1. 1 John November 17, 2006 at 4:45 am

    Just ask God. Don’t forget He wants to hear from you. He already knows the outcome, and your motives. So just tell Him. I will be praying tomorrow.


Leave a comment




November 2006
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930