I would like to clarify from my previous blog by s…

I would like to clarify from my previous blog by stating that any emergence of a cohort would not be intended to displace the utility or the function of a church body. Secondly, as brilliantly stated by my friend Matt Creath in his comment, “there is no definition for authenticity,” I take this to mean that authenticity is a subjective or elastic definition. Personally, my intentions would be to foster the environment that would lead to the successful definition of authenticity as it relates to each individual (though fostering an environment that ACTUALLY tailors itself to each individual is a whole other problem). Whether small group, lifestyle evangelism, or missional life as Matt briefly remarked about, it would be desired that each person’s wishes for “authenticity” would be met by their own personal pursuit of authenticity that would ultimately add to differing perspectives on such a topic within a cohort. I fully believe appropiate spectrums are welcomed in such a cohort that welcomes theological vitality over spiritual sameness. A group that openly demands authenticity in different forms, in my opinion, is a healthier group than that of a group that routinely meets, is aware of the underlying paralysis undermining their search for community, but yet hesitates to critique in fear that such a discrepancy would lead to disunity. I would really recommend reading Al Mohler’s latest Blog: “Pastor as Theologian” in regards to his ordering of such church maintenances.

Also, it would be a wise to download Mohler’s latest radio program on the definition of “evangelical.”

1 Response to “I would like to clarify from my previous blog by s…”


  1. 1 matt creathhttp://www.xanga.com/matthewcreath April 20, 2006 at 1:20 pm

    very good Mr. Walker…very good.

    I’ll call you back today.

    Peace out.

    **Juan Encarnacion for MVP 2006**


Leave a comment




April 2006
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930